Join the Socialist Party Join us today!

Printable version Printable version

Facebook   Twitter

Link to this page: https://www.socialistparty.org.uk/issue/987/27074

From The Socialist newspaper, 21 March 2018

Hands Off HRI campaign granted judicial review into hospital closure

Huddersfield HRI campaign at a Barnsley NHS protest 28 October 2017, photo Huddersfield Socialist Party, photo Huddersfield Socialist Party

Huddersfield HRI campaign at a Barnsley NHS protest 28 October 2017, photo Huddersfield Socialist Party, photo Huddersfield Socialist Party   (Click to enlarge)

Hands Off HRI campaign

Hands Off HRI made legal history at Leeds Crown Court on 15 March. Judge Mark Gosnall agreed there were important matters of law which must be tested in a full judicial review. We expect the hearing to take place in June.

The hospital trust has so far considered itself to be beyond reproach but they will now have to account for their proposals in court.

This is a huge blow to the trust and a massive victory for the people of Huddersfield who have stood shoulder to shoulder with this campaign. It has taken two years of hard work and perseverance to pull this off but we have been rewarded.

The judge has approved the referral to the high court on the following grounds:

Our campaign group will now be shifting up a gear to ensure all possible approaches are explored to win this legal case. Of course we still await the outcome of the independent reconfiguration panel which is now with the secretary of state but undoubtedly this legal case will focus his mind!

This challenge has local and national consequences. It is the first serious legal challenge of its kind. If we win, it doesn't just help our hospital, it will give encouragement to all campaign groups fighting for their own services. However we will need ongoing public support.

We estimate we need to raise another 10,000 to bring our legal case and that is where you come in. All supporters can help us in our next phase of fund raising. We have now proved this is not a done deal and that people power can work. Organise your own fundraiser or just donate to our legal fund. This is a fight for Huddersfield and the wider NHS and we can win. Let's do this together.

Why not click here to join the Socialist Party, or click here to donate to the Socialist Party.


In The Socialist 21 March 2018:


What we think

Russia, spies and nerve agents


Socialist Party news and analysis

Hands off free school meals!

The Blairites are NHS privatisers - to save it means sacking them

Cuts harm kids' health

Hated Blairite mayor ousted: now fight for a no-cuts Newham!

Them & us


International socialist news and analysis

West Virginia teachers' strike victory

US school shootings: student walkouts challenge establishment

Brazil: Psol councillor Marielle Franco murdered


Workplace news and analysis

UCU strike: staff and students unite to continue pensions fight after magnificent 14 days of action

Hinkley workers win back unpaid wages after sit-in protest

Strikers and parents rally again in Newham against academies

Hull college workers ballot for action against mass redundancies

Unions condemn 'culture of bullying' at Merseyside hospital

NSSN conference moves


Socialist Party reports and campaigns

Refugees march against racism and to demand rights

Ideas matter: help us fight to win with May Day greetings

Past fund-raising campaigns show dedication to the fight for socialism

Why I joined: 'The Socialist Party is at the forefront of defending Corbyn's anti-austerity leadership'

Hands Off HRI campaign granted judicial review

Over 1,000 on Newcastle NHS march

Refugee Rights to be launched in Manchester


Opinion

Revolutionary physicist and champion of social causes

The Socialist inbox


 

Home   |   The Socialist 21 March 2018   |   Join the Socialist Party

Subscribe   |   Donate   |   Audio  |   PDF  |   ebook






Related links:

Huddersfield:

triangleHuddersfield Socialist Party opposes racist EDL

triangleHuddersfield Socialist Party organise counter-protest against EDL

triangleSummer of discontent on the cards in Huddersfield bin workers' dispute

triangleHuddersfield set to lose two town centre post offices

Hospital:

triangleMarch to save threatened Liverpool Women's Hospital

triangleSocialists and campaigners protest Leicester NHS cuts

triangleLeicester lobby calls for consultation on NHS closure plans

NHS:

triangleYork health workers say no to privatisation

Reports and campaigns

Reports and campaigns

20/9/18

Black

London Socialist Party meetings for Black History Month

19/9/18

RMT

Strikers ready to up the ante over rail safety

19/9/18

Huddersfield

Huddersfield Socialist Party opposes racist EDL

19/9/18

Newcastle

Hundreds of Newcastle United fans attend Mike Ashley Out meeting

19/9/18

Leicester

Socialists and campaigners protest Leicester NHS cuts

19/9/18

Liverpool

March to save threatened Liverpool Women's Hospital

19/9/18

The Socialist

Join our Socialist sales drive for issue 1011

19/9/18

Liverpool

Liverpool airport workers demand decent pay

19/9/18

York

York health workers say no to privatisation

19/9/18

Birmingham

Birmingham home carers' protest demo

19/9/18

UCU

University pay ballot: vote yes for strike action!

19/9/18

Hull

Socialist Students campaigns at Hull freshers fair

19/9/18

Lewisham

Lewisham: binning the rates rise

19/9/18

Leicester

Leicester UCU fights redundancies

14/9/18

Prisons

POA walkout over government failure to make prisons safe

triangleMore Reports and campaigns articles...


Join the Socialist Party
Subscribe to Socialist Party publications
Donate to the Socialist Party
Socialist Party Facebook page
Socialist Party on Twitter
Visit us on Youtube

LATEST POSTS

CONTACT US

Phone our national office on 020 8988 8777

Email: info@socialistparty.org.uk

Locate your nearest Socialist Party branch Text your name and postcode to 07761 818 206

Regional Socialist Party organisers:

Eastern: 0798 202 1969

East Mids: 0773 797 8057

London: 020 8988 8786

North East: 0784 114 4890

North West 07769 611 320

South East: 020 8988 8777

South West: 07759 796 478

Southern: 07833 681910

Wales: 07935 391 947

West Mids: 02476 555 620

Yorkshire: 0114 264 6551

ABOUT US

ARCHIVE

Alphabetical listing


September 2018

August 2018

July 2018

June 2018

May 2018

April 2018

March 2018

February 2018

January 2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999