Join the Socialist Party Join us today!

Printable version Printable version

Facebook   Twitter

Link to this page: https://www.socialistparty.org.uk/issue/987/27074

From The Socialist newspaper, 21 March 2018

Hands Off HRI campaign granted judicial review into hospital closure

Huddersfield HRI campaign at a Barnsley NHS protest 28 October 2017, photo Huddersfield Socialist Party, photo Huddersfield Socialist Party

Huddersfield HRI campaign at a Barnsley NHS protest 28 October 2017, photo Huddersfield Socialist Party, photo Huddersfield Socialist Party   (Click to enlarge)

Hands Off HRI campaign

Hands Off HRI made legal history at Leeds Crown Court on 15 March. Judge Mark Gosnall agreed there were important matters of law which must be tested in a full judicial review. We expect the hearing to take place in June.

The hospital trust has so far considered itself to be beyond reproach but they will now have to account for their proposals in court.

This is a huge blow to the trust and a massive victory for the people of Huddersfield who have stood shoulder to shoulder with this campaign. It has taken two years of hard work and perseverance to pull this off but we have been rewarded.

The judge has approved the referral to the high court on the following grounds:

Our campaign group will now be shifting up a gear to ensure all possible approaches are explored to win this legal case. Of course we still await the outcome of the independent reconfiguration panel which is now with the secretary of state but undoubtedly this legal case will focus his mind!

This challenge has local and national consequences. It is the first serious legal challenge of its kind. If we win, it doesn't just help our hospital, it will give encouragement to all campaign groups fighting for their own services. However we will need ongoing public support.

We estimate we need to raise another 10,000 to bring our legal case and that is where you come in. All supporters can help us in our next phase of fund raising. We have now proved this is not a done deal and that people power can work. Organise your own fundraiser or just donate to our legal fund. This is a fight for Huddersfield and the wider NHS and we can win. Let's do this together.

Why not click here to join the Socialist Party, or click here to donate to the Socialist Party.


In The Socialist 21 March 2018:


What we think

Russia, spies and nerve agents


Socialist Party news and analysis

Hands off free school meals!

The Blairites are NHS privatisers - to save it means sacking them

Cuts harm kids' health

Hated Blairite mayor ousted: now fight for a no-cuts Newham!

Them & us


International socialist news and analysis

West Virginia teachers' strike victory

US school shootings: student walkouts challenge establishment

Brazil: Psol councillor Marielle Franco murdered


Workplace news and analysis

UCU strike: staff and students unite to continue pensions fight after magnificent 14 days of action

Hinkley workers win back unpaid wages after sit-in protest

Strikers and parents rally again in Newham against academies

Hull college workers ballot for action against mass redundancies

Unions condemn 'culture of bullying' at Merseyside hospital

NSSN conference moves


Socialist Party reports and campaigns

Refugees march against racism and to demand rights

Ideas matter: help us fight to win with May Day greetings

Past fund-raising campaigns show dedication to the fight for socialism

Why I joined: 'The Socialist Party is at the forefront of defending Corbyn's anti-austerity leadership'

Hands Off HRI campaign granted judicial review

Over 1,000 on Newcastle NHS march

Refugee Rights to be launched in Manchester


Opinion

Revolutionary physicist and champion of social causes

The Socialist inbox


 

Home   |   The Socialist 21 March 2018   |   Join the Socialist Party

Subscribe   |   Donate   |   Audio  |   PDF  |   ebook






Related links:

Huddersfield:

triangleHuddersfield TUSC takes on the Blairites

triangleMay elections: a chance to fight attacks on health and social care

triangleHands Off HRI campaign group meets Corbyn and Ashworth

triangleKirklees council opens consultation of library services

triangle'Hands around HRI' to save Huddersfield A&E

Hospital:

triangle1,400 beds empty as patients lay in corridors: health unions must act now

triangleUnions condemn 'culture of bullying' at Merseyside hospital

triangleNottingham hospital black alert

triangleChatsworth ward victory shows we can save our NHS

NHS:

triangleSheffield Socialist Party May Day meeting

triangleLeeds TUSC: How can we stop NHS cuts & privatisation?

triangleLeeds TUSC: How can we stop NHS cuts & privatisation?

Reports and campaigns

Reports and campaigns

24/4/18

Newham

School strike forces head to say privatisation will stop

23/4/18

Hull

College protest against job losses

22/4/18

Bromley

Bromley library workers win strike campaign

18/4/18

UCU

UCU members vote to end pensions dispute

18/4/18

Usdaw

Usdaw conference 2018: time for new era of fighting trade unionism

18/4/18

Leeds

Victorious Fearnville Fields campaigners thank the Socialist

18/4/18

Hull

Hull says no to war, no to austerity

18/4/18

The Socialist

The Socialist - a fighting, campaigning, workers' paper

18/4/18

Socialist Party

Building fund: 150,000 milestone smashed!

18/4/18

Fighting Fund

Give us your change (and more) to fight for system change!

18/4/18

Scotland

Workers' victory over anti-union Scottish council

18/4/18

Newham

Avenue School strikers and parents win judicial review

18/4/18

PCS

Vote for a left, fighting PCS leadership

18/4/18

PCS

PCS rejects Acas offer - further strikes announced

18/4/18

Bromley

Bromley libraries - indefinite strike action continues

triangleMore Reports and campaigns articles...


Join the Socialist Party
Subscribe to Socialist Party publications
Donate to the Socialist Party
Socialist Party Facebook page
Socialist Party on Twitter
Visit us on Youtube

LATEST POSTS

CONTACT US

Phone our national office on 020 8988 8777

Email: info@socialistparty.org.uk

Locate your nearest Socialist Party branch Text your name and postcode to 07761 818 206

Regional Socialist Party organisers:

Eastern: 0798 202 1969

East Mids: 0773 797 8057

London: 020 8988 8786

North East: 0784 114 4890

North West 07769 611 320

South East: 020 8988 8777

South West: 07759 796 478

Southern: 07833 681910

Wales: 07935 391 947

West Mids: 02476 555 620

Yorkshire: 0114 264 6551

ABOUT US

ARCHIVE

Alphabetical listing


April 2018

March 2018

February 2018

January 2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999