Join the Socialist Party Join us today!

Printable version Printable version

Facebook   Twitter

Link to this page: https://www.socialistparty.org.uk/issue/1090/30889

From The Socialist newspaper, 10 June 2020

Readers' opinion: Mass anti-racist protests - things will never be the same

Do you have something to say? Send your news, views and criticism in no more than 150 words to editors@socialistparty.org.uk or Socialist Inbox, PO Box 1398, Enfield EN1 9GT. We reserve the right to shorten and edit letters. Confidentiality will be respected if requested.


Police violence is start of outrage

A Black Lives Matter spokeswoman said the protests were not just about police violence, although the police violence is an outrage. She said there was the feeling that there was no way out, for a whole generation, from never-ending poverty, discrimination and police violence.

She said the lack of infrastructure in black communities is being compounded by discriminatory and racist policing. She said it was about the lack of jobs, good jobs. The terrible state of education and poor healthcare has disproportionately killed black workers during the Covid-19 pandemic.

This movement could be the spark for a youth movement against capitalism. Boy, do we need it.

Nancy Taaffe, Waltham Forest, London

Statue toppling: Imperialism has gone unpunished

So some young people threw a statue of a slave owner in the River Avon. Tory and sadly Labour hypocrisy knows no bounds.

Centuries of desecration and destruction of monuments around the world by British imperialism has gone unpunished. Theft and looting of shrines, sacred places and monuments by individual wealthy expeditioners are lauded in museums.

Vandalism by breaking off noses, penises, hands, etc of cultural artefacts produced by non-British cultures is embedded in British imperialism's history.

Before any single person is interviewed for the Bristol drowning, let's bring in the hired thugs - or their inheritors - of British capitalism for their turn in the dock.

They didn't just steal heritage, they stole our wealth too.

Hugo Pierre, Unison union black members' seat (personal capacity)

Racism and class inequality

When socialists talk about racism as a class issue, we don't mean it's only working-class black people who suffer, or that we need more black representatives in our ruling class.

The basis for which racism exists is to prop up a class-based system, where a tiny minority control the world's wealth while the vast majority suffer.

Inequality began at the dawn of class society. But racism towards specifically black people was a founding principle of our current class society, capitalism.

Built on the backs of slavery, capitalism needs to divide the working class in order to maintain control. Divide and rule.

Pit ordinary people against each other to keep them from uniting and struggling for a better life. Divide and rule are the twin pillars our current global capitalist society stands on.

Yes we fight for more representation, but alone more representation under capitalism is a dead end. There can be no kind of capitalism, reformed or not, in which racism does not exist.

As a human being I want racism to end. As a socialist, I understand this can only come through a complete overhaul of our current system, by uniting the majority of ordinary people to take power off the hands of the current ruling minority.

Of course, battles would still need to be had under socialism. But it is only on the basis of a society that does not depend on the crushing of the many to sustain an elite few, that racism and all its horrors can be smashed.

I am protesting against police brutality. I will continue to fight as a socialist and a member of the Socialist Party to end racism.

Amy Cousens, Bradford

Statue toppling: Others deserve it

"If we start pulling down statues of 'bad' historical figures, where do we stop?" ask incredulous right-wing commentators. Actually I can see their problem.

Slavery was part and parcel of colonialism, imperialism and capitalism. Where would statue toppling stop, indeed?

Queen Victoria's statues are all over the place. She oversaw the British Empire and its many, many crimes.

While on her throne, one million people starved to death in Ireland and another million were forced to emigrate, many dying in the 'coffin ships' to America, to satisfy laissez-faire capitalism.

That's just one million reasons for her statues to come down, along with all the other offensive bloodstained representatives of this system. Best place for them is a 'museum of pre-civilisation' - pre-socialist society, that is.

Niall Mulholland, Newham, London

Black and white, unite and fight

Al Sharpton says that white people have had their foot on black people's necks for 400 years, and black people need to run corporations, same as white people. I suppose he means black people should have a fair chance to exploit ordinary black and white working-class people, same as white bosses do.

I feel like somebody has had their foot on my neck all my life. I've been smashed down by the capitalist system and it doesn't matter what colour the boss was. Racism is very real, as we have seen in Minneapolis.

In the 1960s, the ruling class realised that they needed to cut across the radicalisation and potentially revolutionary movements in black communities that were reaching out to white and all workers, threatening their entire system.

We had Barack Obama as president. He talked a good game, but didn't achieve much at all for black or any other ordinary working people.

He was too linked to the demands of capitalism, which helped lead to Trump's victory - who now uses racism whenever it suits him.

What we desperately need is working-class unity, to rise up and smash down capitalism and build a world for everyone to live to their best and full height in life with real democracy - socialism.

Chris Parry, Bristol

Socialist paper on protests

Anti-racism demo, June 2020

Anti-racism demo, June 2020   (Click to enlarge)

I picked up a copy of your newspaper, the Socialist, at the Black Lives Matter protest in London on 7 June. I was delighted to read a leftist take on issues caused by the coronavirus, especially following all the liberal media dirge.

Rebecca, London

Peace v violence

'Violence flares across America' and 'peaceful protests across America' are both true, but you can guess which story the media chose to go with. The police and the National Guard can easily turn a peaceful protest into a 'scene of violence' without any help from protesters. Then the media can report it as such.

Derek McMillan, Worthing

Blairites tighten control

"Corbyn humiliated" was the headline of a delighted Daily Express. Jeremy Corbyn was one of ten nominees for eight places for the Labour's Party's delegation to the Council of Europe. He didn't get one.

Could there be any clearer confirmation of the analysis in last week's Socialist, (see 'Lessons from the Corbyn experience' and 'Blairite general secretary elected' at socialistparty.org.uk), of the right-wing control of Labour?

Those genuine socialists still in Labour must assess the struggle needed to reverse this situation. Draw out the lessons of why the Socialist Party (formerly Militant) were expelled from Labour, in the past.

Seriously consider the reasoning in the latest issue of Socialism Today.

Keith Dickinson, West London

Donate to the Socialist Party

Coronavirus crisis - Finance appeal

The coronavirus crisis has laid bare the class character of society in numerous ways. It is making clear to many that it is the working class that keeps society running, not the CEOs of major corporations.

The results of austerity have been graphically demonstrated as public services strain to cope with the crisis.

The government has now ripped up its 'austerity' mantra and turned to policies that not long ago were denounced as socialist. But after the corona crisis, it will try to make the working class pay for it, by trying to claw back what has been given.

  • The Socialist Party's material is more vital than ever, so we can continue to report from workers who are fighting for better health and safety measures, against layoffs, for adequate staffing levels, etc.
  • Our 'fighting coronavirus workers' charter', outlines a programme to combat the virus and protect workers' living conditions.
  • When the health crisis subsides, we must be ready for the stormy events ahead and the need to arm workers' movements with a socialist programme - one which puts the health and needs of humanity before the profits of a few.
Inevitably, during the crisis we have not been able to sell the Socialist and raise funds in the ways we normally would.
We therefore urgently appeal to all our viewers to donate to our special coronavirus appeal.

Please donate here.

All payments are made through a secure server.

My donation

 

Your message: 

 


In The Socialist 10 June 2020:


Black Lives Matter

Fight racism and class inequality. "Seize the time!"

Black Lives Matter protests sweep country: How can the movement win?

Mass protests erupt

Black and white youth rise up against racism - US protester speaks to the Socialist

Capitalism = racism: "You fight capitalism with socialism"

"We're going to fight racism and capitalism with socialism"

France: 20,000 rally against Paris's killer gendarmes

Socialists call for trade unions to join the fight


Schools

Tories backtrack in England - Stand firm for school safety

Oppose the Welsh government's reckless return to school plan


Workplace news

Non-essential retail to open - Organise at work

Debenhams: Workers made to pay for Covid-19 crisis

Workers' union and campaign group fights Derby Rolls-Royce job cuts

Homerton Hospital - withdraw private contract


News

Test-and-trace fiasco - the ringing of the cash till

Coronavirus pandemic news in brief

BAME coronavirus deaths - an indictment of capitalist inequality


Lessons from history

Roosevelt's New Deal programme - reforms to save capitalism


Obituary

Ken Douglas: A tireless and determined fighter for socialism


Campaigns and reports

Why we joined the Socialist Party

Donate so we can raise our socialist message

Domestic violence murder


Readers' opinion

As a health worker, I had to march against racism

Readers' opinion: Things will never be the same


 

Home   |   The Socialist 10 June 2020   |   Join the Socialist Party

Subscribe   |   Donate   |   Audio  |   PDF  |   ebook






Related links:

Racist:

triangleBLM: Socialist alternative to racist capitalism

triangleFight racism, Trump and capitalism

triangleTowards an anti-racist school curriculum

triangleOppose racist symbols and the racist system

triangle"We're going to fight racism and capitalism with socialism"

Black:

triangleVideo game developer attacks Black Lives Matter

triangleBlack Lives Matter: Fighting injustice, fighting for our rights

triangleNo to polluting incinerator, dumped in working-class Edmonton

triangleAfter Scottish government U-turn, Young Socialists fight for a future on A-Level results day

Racism:

triangleSocialist Party Wales: Capitalism = Crisis, War & Racism

triangleGrimsby Socialist Party: Solidarity with refugees - Oppose racism

triangleBlack Lives Matter: this generation is willing to stand up and fight

Capitalism:

triangleSouth East Wales Socialist Party: World in Crisis - Can capitalism overcome it?

triangleWaltham Forest Socialist Party: Are women being pushed back into the 1950s?

Socialist:

triangleCardiff West Socialist Party: The US presidential election

Black Lives Matter:

triangleSocialism on the rise

Reviews and comments

Reviews and comments

23/9/20

Pay

A day in the life of a salon worker

23/9/20

Socialist Party

Why we joined the Socialist Party

23/9/20

Football

TV: The English Game - how the working class made football the people's game

23/9/20

Letters

The Socialist Inbox

16/9/20

Labour Party

Non-fiction: Left Out - the inside story of Labour under Corbyn

9/9/20

Black Lives Matter

Video game developer attacks Black Lives Matter

2/9/20

Iraq

TV: Once Upon a Time in Iraq

2/9/20

Housing

Manctopia: billion pound property boom

19/8/20

George Orwell

75 years since the publication of Animal Farm: From 'two legs bad' to 'two legs better'

22/7/20

Cuba

Exciting Cuban spy thriller exposes US-sponsored terrorism

22/7/20

Letters

The Socialist inbox

22/7/20

Socialist Party

I joined the Socialist Party to fight back

15/7/20

Housing

TV: Ross Kemp - Living with Forced Out Families

15/7/20

Bolsheviks

Books that inspired me: The Mother

15/7/20

Black Lives Matter

How the FBI and Chicago police murdered a Black Panther

triangleMore Reviews and comments articles...


Join the Socialist Party
Subscribe to Socialist Party publications
Donate to the Socialist Party
Socialist Party Facebook page
Socialist Party on Twitter
Visit us on Youtube

LATEST POSTS

CONTACT US

Phone our national office on 020 8988 8777

Email: info@socialistparty.org.uk

Locate your nearest Socialist Party branch Text your name and postcode to 07761 818 206

Regional Socialist Party organisers:

Eastern: 079 8202 1969

East Mids: 077 3797 8057

London: 075 4018 9052

North East: 078 4114 4890

North West 079 5437 6096

South West: 077 5979 6478

Southern: 078 3368 1910

Wales: 079 3539 1947

West Mids: 024 7655 5620

Yorkshire: 077 0671 0041

ABOUT US

ARCHIVE

Alphabetical listing


September 2020

August 2020

July 2020

June 2020

May 2020

April 2020

March 2020

February 2020

January 2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999