Join the Socialist Party Join us today!

Printable version Printable version

Facebook   Twitter

Link to this page: https://www.socialistparty.org.uk/issue/1091/30931

From The Socialist newspaper, 17 June 2020

Readers' opinion

Two-metre rule under 'review' - Another case of profit before safety

During the coronavirus pandemic, May 2020, photo JB

During the coronavirus pandemic, May 2020, photo JB   (Click to enlarge)

The Tories all sat in their posh homes behind computers now want to put our lives at risk through the relaxation of the two-metre rule. After making a mess of the run up to lockdown, this is the exit strategy to open up the economy

John Malcolm, Teesside
...and in Northern Ireland...

The same Northern Ireland Executive which took weeks to introduce workplace infection controls, weeks more to enforce them, and is now looking at weakening the two-metre social-distancing rule in workplaces - put laws into place hours before imposing fines on participants on socially distanced anti-racist protests.

Donal O'Cofaigh, Cross Community Labour Alternative councillor and Militant Left member

Donate to the Socialist Party

Coronavirus crisis - Finance appeal

The coronavirus crisis has laid bare the class character of society in numerous ways. It is making clear to many that it is the working class that keeps society running, not the CEOs of major corporations.

The results of austerity have been graphically demonstrated as public services strain to cope with the crisis.

The government has now ripped up its 'austerity' mantra and turned to policies that not long ago were denounced as socialist. But after the corona crisis, it will try to make the working class pay for it, by trying to claw back what has been given.

  • The Socialist Party's material is more vital than ever, so we can continue to report from workers who are fighting for better health and safety measures, against layoffs, for adequate staffing levels, etc.
  • Our 'fighting coronavirus workers' charter', outlines a programme to combat the virus and protect workers' living conditions.
  • When the health crisis subsides, we must be ready for the stormy events ahead and the need to arm workers' movements with a socialist programme - one which puts the health and needs of humanity before the profits of a few.
Inevitably, during the crisis we have not been able to sell the Socialist and raise funds in the ways we normally would.
We therefore urgently appeal to all our viewers to donate to our special coronavirus appeal.

Please donate here.

All payments are made through a secure server.

My donation

 

Your message: 

 


In The Socialist 17 June 2020:


What we think

Which way forward for Black Lives Matter protests?

Oppose racist symbols and the racist system


News

Capitalism = inequality. Fight for socialism!

Black Lives Matter: more youth protests take aim at capitalism

Contact tracing fiasco: You can't believe a word the government tells us


Youth

Youth without a future: fight for jobs and homes - fight for socialism!


Workplace news

Resist relaxation of Sunday trading laws

Debenham's protests: Workers must not pay price of Covid-19

Battle with BT management needed to win real pay rise


Schools

Tories retreat on free school meals

Parents' protests against Welsh schools reopening

Cumbria: Teachers, parents and socialists fight reckless school reopening


Reviews

Tears and anger over the treatment of the Windrush generation

Film: Da 5 Bloods - entertaining but politically constrained


Campaigns and party news

Why we joined the Socialist Party

20 days. One town. Four domestic violence murders.

Fight for a socialist future!


Lessons from history

Reform or revolt? How was the slave trade abolished?


Scotland

Scotland and coronavirus - a catalogue of government failure


Readers' opinion

Three years on: No justice for Grenfell, no peace from BLM

Two-metre rule under 'review' - Another case of profit before safety

The Socialist inbox


 

Home   |   The Socialist 17 June 2020   |   Join the Socialist Party

Subscribe   |   Donate   |   Audio  |   PDF  |   ebook






Related links:

Profit:

triangleTories put profit before lives

triangleSocialist planning is the alternative

triangleTories put profit before lives - unions must stand firm on workplace safety

triangleStay alert to bosses putting profit before safety

triangleNSSN: Workers' safety before profit!

Review:

triangleFrom slavery to Black Lives Matter - racism and capitalist injustice exposed

triangleTV Review BBC Panorama: PPE shortage - how many lives will be lost?

triangleTV review: The Trial of Christine Keeler

triangleHS2 debacle: nationalise rail and construction!

Ireland:

triangleFurther protests in Ireland against Debenhams closures - UK fightback needed

triangleIrish police use Covid-19 emergency powers to disperse Dublin shop workers' protest

triangleBosses concede to walkouts in Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland:

triangleMay Day 2020: join the protests - wear red, bring flags and banners

triangleNorthern Ireland's strike wave

Homes:

triangleYoung people fighting back: Jobs and homes, not racism

Economy:

triangleBristol North Socialist Party: What happens after a crisis 2 - The Planned Economy

Reviews and comments

Reviews and comments

1/7/20

TV

From slavery to Black Lives Matter - racism and capitalist injustice exposed

1/7/20

US

Readers' opinion

1/7/20

Socialist Party

I left Labour and want to end capitalism - join us in Socialist Party

24/6/20

Letters

The Socialist inbox

24/6/20

Covid

A timely read about a pandemic that overwhelms society

17/6/20

Windrush

Tears and anger over the treatment of the Windrush generation

17/6/20

Grenfell Tower

Three years on: No justice for Grenfell, no peace from BLM

17/6/20

Film

Film: Da 5 Bloods - entertaining but politically constrained

17/6/20

Profit

Two-metre rule under 'review' - Another case of profit before safety

17/6/20

Letters

The Socialist inbox

17/6/20

Socialist Party

Why we joined the Socialist Party

10/6/20

Racist

Readers' opinion: Things will never be the same

10/6/20

Socialist Party

Why we joined the Socialist Party

3/6/20

Football

Football in the time of coronavirus - reclaim our game!

3/6/20

Letters

Going viral: Socialist comments and letters

triangleMore Reviews and comments articles...


Join the Socialist Party
Subscribe to Socialist Party publications
Donate to the Socialist Party
Socialist Party Facebook page
Socialist Party on Twitter
Visit us on Youtube

LATEST POSTS

CONTACT US

Phone our national office on 020 8988 8777

Email: info@socialistparty.org.uk

Locate your nearest Socialist Party branch Text your name and postcode to 07761 818 206

Regional Socialist Party organisers:

Eastern: 079 8202 1969

East Mids: 077 3797 8057

London: 07748 534 891

North East: 078 4114 4890

North West 079 5437 6096

South West: 077 5979 6478

Southern: 078 3368 1910

Wales: 079 3539 1947

West Mids: 024 7655 5620

Yorkshire: 077 0671 0041

ABOUT US

ARCHIVE

Alphabetical listing


July 2020

June 2020

May 2020

April 2020

March 2020

February 2020

January 2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999