Join the Socialist Party Join us today!

Printable version Printable version

Facebook   Twitter

Link to this page: https://www.socialistparty.org.uk/issue/1156/33335

From The Socialist newspaper, 17 November 2021

Readers' opinion

Cricket

Cricket   (Click to enlarge)

No place for racism in cricket

As a Yorkshire cricket fan I was appalled that Yorkshire County Cricket (YCC) felt there was no action necessary against the staff and players that its own report found had subjected Azeem Rafiq to racist abuse.

Trade unionists have been challenging racist so-called 'banter' for decades in Yorkshire and elsewhere. What is funny about calling someone you work with a racist name? Has anyone using such language ever asked the subjects of the abuse how they feel about it?

Since the 1950s there have been working-class communities in Yorkshire from cricketing nations in the Indian subcontinent and Caribbean. When they were made to feel unwelcome or excluded by white cricket clubs, they set up their own clubs and leagues. Why has YCC not recruited more players from these leagues rather than sticking with the old middle class and public school clubs? Some ethnic minority Yorkshiremen have had to go to other counties for a cricketing career.

Kevin Pattison, Leeds

UK homes shrinking

Average space in UK homes is the lowest in western Europe - but the trend is to get worse. There has been a five-fold increase in 'micro homes' in the last five years. Between 2011 and 2021, one in 15 flats in London fell below the national minimum standard of 37 square metres.

Builders and landowners profit, but the housing crisis gets worse. We need to build council homes, and nationalise land and the speculative building developers. (See 'Socialist planning to meet housing need' at socialistparty.org.uk)

Paul Kershaw, Enfield

'Not a corrupt country'

I expected young Boris's announcement that the UK is not a corrupt country to be followed by China announcing that China is not a dictatorship and Biden announcing Americans do not chew gum.

Derek McMillan, East Sussex

Donate to the Socialist Party

Finance appeal

The coronavirus crisis has laid bare the class character of society in numerous ways. It is making clear to many that it is the working class that keeps society running, not the CEOs of major corporations.

The results of austerity have been graphically demonstrated as public services strain to cope with the crisis.

  • The Socialist Party's material is more vital than ever, so we can continue to report from workers who are fighting for better health and safety measures, against layoffs, for adequate staffing levels, etc.
  • We must be ready for the stormy events ahead and the need to arm workers' movements with a socialist programme - one which puts the health and needs of humanity before the profits of a few.
Inevitably, during the crisis we have not been able to sell the Socialist and raise funds in the ways we normally would.
We therefore urgently appeal to all our viewers to donate to our Fighting Fund.

Please donate here.

All payments are made through a secure server.

My donation

 

Your message: 

 


In The Socialist 17 November 2021:


NHS

Cuts drag NHS to brink

NHS workers must take action now to save our NHS

Outsourced Barts health workers in strike ballot for a pay rise

Health and care staff shortages worsened by Tory vaccine sacking threat

Fund the fight for socialism


News

London MPs' second home swindle while workers and students struggle

Tory sleaze scandal continues, an ex-workers' MP responds

University bosses' pay piles up while workers are forced to strike


COP26

Youth fight for well-paid green jobs and socialist change

Sunak's climate finance agenda typifies capitalism's COP26 failure


China

China: Bureaucracy grapples with new crises


International

Ten years on - where has Podemos's radicalism gone?

Belarus refugees - caught between a rock and a hard place


Workplace news

S Wales Stagecoach bus drivers win 10.50 an hour

DVLA ballot turnout falls short of threshold

Striking Scunthorpe steel scaffs up the ante

Leeds cab drivers protest against taxi rank move

Fresh strikes on East Midlands Railway

An appeal to trade union members to stand as anti-cuts candidates

Clarks workers fight 'fire-and-rehire' pay cut

London couriers take action

St Mungo's report fails to address bullying and victimisation of workers


Campaigns

Resisting evictions in east London

Leeds solidarity protest says stop Sudan coup

Why I joined the Socialist Party

Why am I coming to Socialism 2021?

Birmingham People's Budget


Readers' opinion

Readers' opinion


 

Home   |   The Socialist 17 November 2021   |   Join the Socialist Party

Subscribe   |   Donate   |   Audio  |   PDF  |   ebook






Related links:

Cricket:

triangleCricket's history of racism and elitism

triangleCapitalism v cricket

triangleSocialism, black liberation and cricket - the life of CLR James

Yorkshire:

triangleYorkshire Youth Fight for Jobs relaunched

triangleSouth Yorkshire Socialist Party: The fight for socialist change

triangleSocialist Party regional conferences meet online

triangleYorkshire Socialist Party regional conference 2021

Homes:

triangleSocialist planning to meet housing need

triangleEast London gentrification plans exposed

triangleDurning Hall: Hands off our community space

Racist:

triangleSouthampton Socialist Party: United struggle against racism and oppression

triangleUSA: cop killings and the anti-racist movement

Housing:

triangleResisting evictions in east London

Reviews and comments

Reviews and comments

24/11/21

Socialism

What did you think of Socialism 2021?

24/11/21

Obituary

Obituary: Ted Austin (1940-2021) - working-class socialist stalwart

17/11/21

Cricket

Readers' opinion

10/11/21

Racism

John Barnes on class and capitalism. What's missing?

27/10/21

Review

TV review Maid

27/10/21

Review

TV review The Riots 2011: One Week in August

20/10/21

Unemployed

I'm unemployed: For me vacancy crisis is a lie

20/10/21

Review

TV review: Squid Game

13/10/21

Football

Newcastle United takeover - no to billionaire Ashley or Saudi despots

13/10/21

Fascism

Ridley Road: An engaging story of fighting fascism

13/10/21

Bus

Readers' comments

6/10/21

Obituary

Obituary - Dave Hardaker, 1952-2021

6/10/21

Capitalism

Caffeine and capitalism - a symbiotic relationship

22/9/21

Covid

TV Review - Help: Heart-wrenching portrayal of Covid care home crisis

22/9/21

Miners

Gleision mine deaths: Still fighting for justice

triangleMore Reviews and comments articles...


Join the Socialist Party
Subscribe to Socialist Party publications
Donate to the Socialist Party
Socialist Party Facebook page
Socialist Party on Twitter
Visit us on Youtube

LATEST POSTS

CONTACT US

Phone our national office on 020 8988 8777

Email: [email protected]

Locate your nearest Socialist Party branch Text your name and postcode to 07761 818 206

Regional Socialist Party organisers:

Eastern: 079 8202 1969

East Mids: 077 3797 8057

London: 075 4018 9052

North East: 078 4114 4890

North West 079 5437 6096

South West: 077 5979 6478

Southern: 078 3368 1910

Wales: 077 7221 5281

West Mids: 024 7655 5620

Yorkshire: 078 0983 9793

ABOUT US

ARCHIVE

Alphabetical listing


November 2021

October 2021

September 2021

August 2021

July 2021

June 2021

May 2021

April 2021

March 2021

February 2021

January 2021

2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999